Windows Mobile 5.0 app RRS feed

• Question

• I trying to learn how to programing in C++ right now. I want to learn programing Windows mobile app. Is that possible in Express? How do I do if that is possible? Where can I learn that? Thanks for your help!

Sunday, June 11, 2006 3:32 PM

Answers

•  Daniel Beravi wrote:
    I really want to programing with Visual C++ Express Edition beacause I don't have to much HD space and I am only a beginner at programing.

I don't want to pay for a new editor and a compilator... I want to learn programing mobile app just in Express Edition because that.

I wonder if it is possible to get that for free (it's OK if it cost some money but not to much) in Express Edition. It's OK if the kit (or something like that) is not from MS.

Some thoughts,

1. I don't think being a beginner and wanting to program mobile applications go very well together.  My suggestion:
      • Use Visual C++ 2005 (or Visual C# 2005) Express Editions while you are learning the language.
      • You can solve the Mobile question when you are past the beginner stage.  Making windows applications of any kind should be your first objective.

2. Processor speed and hard disk capacity matter for the Visual Studio Express Editions. 
      • The Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition CD-ROM is 462MB and it will take more space on your hard drive.
      • For a beginner you want all of it (except you won't need SQL Server Express Edition to work toward mobile development).
      • I do not know that Visual C++ 2005 EE is available on CD-ROM.  You will probably have to be able to download the whole image and burn your own CD-ROM.  (I do not recommend web installs, but you may have to do it that way.)
      • Visual C# 2005 EE and the Visual Web Developer Express Edition can all be found on CD-ROMs in the back of inexpensive books.  They also provide useful information for beginners.  Look for titles in the Build a Program Now! series.