none
Undefined starting date in MS Project RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm new to MS Project 2010 and I would like to create draft of my research project. This project did not start jet and I have undefined starting date. I know duration and tasks. Can I create such project which will have undefined dates? How to do it? I would like to use "months of project" and not months connected with any real or unreal time.

I will be grateful for help.

Best regards!

Adam

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 2:00 PM

All replies

• Adam,

You could use "Manually Scheduled Task" for this. Read about it more here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGQHLbJKo74

Prasanna Adavi,PMP,MCTS,MCITP,MCT http://thinkepm.blogspot.com

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 2:03 PM
  • Hi Adam,

You can definitely do that. In the "Project" tab, click on project information and enter an estimated project start date.

Then any new task will be created by default to this date.

If you follow the best pratices for scheduling, the very first task/milestone could be "project kick-off" and will be by default scheduled to the specified project start date. Then all subsequent tasks will have dependencies (ie predecessors), thus when you'll know more precisely the project start date, you'll update it in the project information. Your project first milestone will move consequently updating your whole plan as expected.

Be aware that specifying directly start and/or finish dates will create constraints on tasks, preventing them to be updated accordingly when you'll update the project start date.

I strongly advice to proceed like this because your project duration/work should not depend on the start date. You should schedule your entire project plan with all activities and then just update the start date that will update the subsequent tasks (assuming as I said that the tasks are correctly scheduled with no unnecessary constraints).

Hope this helps,

Guillaume Rouyre, MBA, MCP, MCTS |

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 2:13 PM