Can i use composite pattern? RRS feed

• Question

• User-301840979 posted

Hi,

i'm new with design patterns and i'm not sure if in this situation i can use a composite pattern.

The scenario is a web application for an address book : the address book cointains AddressBoookItem, generalization for Contact and ContactGroup. The last one is the composite object containing a collection of AddressBoookItem.

With these scenario i'm sure that this is a composite pattern, but what is confusing me is that a contact may belong to many contactgroup. Does this request change the situation? Till now i thought that between the Leaf object and the Composite (in the composite pattern) there was a 1-to-m relationship (a composite may contains many leaf but a leaf is contained in only one composite object).

Am i wrong?

Can i still use the composite pattern ?

And, the last question,

How could i rapresent my scenario in a relational database? One table for the entire hierarchy or two table (Contact and ContactGroup) with a m:n relationship between them ?

Thanks

Wednesday, May 26, 2010 3:01 AM

Answers

• User-952121411 posted

My doubt is on the relationship between Leaf and Composite object in the Composite pattern, that is, a single Leaf object may belong to many Composite object ? Is there any limitation ?

No a leaf is the most primitive object type in the Composite pattern and only belongs to a Single Composite object.  However there is no limitation on how many leaf nodes (objects) can exist for a single Composite object.  Just remember that in order to adhere to this pattern all Composite objects must adhere to the Component Abstract Class.

With regard to the database structure i thought to three tables:

- Contact  with fields contactid, name, email, faxNumber, PhoneNumber, Address, etc.

- ContactGroup (used to categorize contact and group them in a convenient way)with GroupId, ParentGroupId, GroupeName fields.