none
time function RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm new to C++ and I am writing a project in it that I want to build on both Windows CE and VxWorks, so I am compiling the project in both MS Visual Studio and Wind River Workbench. 

There are a number of places in the app where I want to get the current date and time (number of seconds since 1/1/1970) but I can't figure out how to make it work!  From what I can tell, time(time_t * timer) is the way to go, but while this compiles fine for VxWorks, when I compile it for Windows I get a strange linker error which says that there are unresolved externals in the function that contains the call to time().

Help! (Thanks in advance!)

Rachel

Wednesday, July 5, 2006 7:49 PM

Answers

• Apparently, the old time functions arent implemented in the runtime library for Windows CE. You could resort to Win32 methods like GetLocalTime and GetTimeZoneInformation instead for your Visual Studio build.

Wednesday, July 5, 2006 9:02 PM

All replies

• All you do is include time.h, and do something similar to the following snippet?

time_t x;
    time(&x);

Wednesday, July 5, 2006 7:55 PM
  • That's exactly what I want to do--here is essentially what I'm doing:

#include "time.h"

void foo(void)
    {
        time_t curr_time;
        time(&curr_time);
    }

or I was wondering if this was an option:

void foo(void)
    {
        time_t curr_time = time(NULL);
    }

Either way I get the same error:

error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol time referenced in function "protected: void __cdecl foo(void)"

It seems like it should be simple, what is going on???

Wednesday, July 5, 2006 8:09 PM
  • The preprocessor plays games with time_t and time().  They get redefined to __time64_t and _time64().  What exactly are the undefined symbols you get?

Also make sure the the project property Linker, Input, Ignore all default libraries is set to No.

Wednesday, July 5, 2006 8:14 PM