none
Skeleton Exiting View RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I'm a student, and this question may quite possibly be silly, but I'd very much appreciate any assistance.

I'm currently enjoy the SDK and have run into a problem that I am unsure how to over come with ease (and maybe there is no simple method).

I was trying to figure out how to check for when a skeleton exits the viewable area.

In the skeleton viewer example, it just squishes the skeleton and leaves it on the side, giving it a value of still tracked.

I've also tried to check for clip left or clip right when exiting the viewable area, however other objects in the room trigger this event.

I believe my answer may lie in the ShapeGame example, as they do remove characters. However, they use a value (DateTime) and track how long since the last update has been, and seem to require jumping through a few hoops. Also, I don't quite understand if whether or not the skeleton is still being tracked and simply ignored.

Ideally I'd like to do something along the lines of

nui_SkeletonFrameReady(blah blah)

{

bool NoSkeletonsOnScreen = true;

foreach (SkeletonData data in skeletonFrame.Skeletons)
                {
                    if (SkeletonTrackingState.Tracked == data.TrackingState)
                        noSkeletonsOnScreen = false;
                }

if(noSkeletonsOnScreen)

//Display Picture of Clown

}

The reason this code will not work, is because there "is" a mangled skeleton on the screen which the kinect is "tracking", even if all persons has entered and left.

Thanks very much for any assistance.

-Mathieu

Thursday, June 23, 2011 9:25 AM

Answers

• The way the shape game example does this is to check the joints.count.  An inactive player (offscreen) has a joint count of zero.