none
vshost.exe crashes when calling Close() RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone, I'm a student and I'm working on a project for college, a rather simple media player.

I'm using an Access 2010 database to save the user's music library information and the program reads and writes to the DB when needed.

Up until yesterday everything worked fine, today I started to work on playlist integration. It works by saving the file paths of the songs chosen to a text file, then it sends the file path of that text file and the playlist name to the appropriate table in the DB. Writing to a text file using the TextWriter class, and it looks something like this:

System.IO.TextWriter writer;

playlistPath = Application.StartupPath + "\\playlists\\" + playlistName + ".txt";
    writer = new StreamWriter(playlistPath, true);

//write to file
          try
          { //BRNSong -> my own class for handling mp3 info
           //core.nowPlayling.songList is the list of currently selected songs
            foreach (BRNSong song in core.nowPlaying.songList)
            {
              writer.WriteLine(song.getFilePath());
            }
          }

catch (Exception ex)
          {
            throw ex;
          }
          finally
          {
            writer.Close();
          }

That part works fine, but here's the evil part, when I try to access the database(mind you, the function that does it comes after the code up there) to read data (select command),when I close that connection ( conn.Close() ), the program crashes vshost.exe and everything is ruined.

The odd part here is that anywhere else that I use that function, the connection closes up just fine, so I have no idea why that happens.

the error I get is this:

http://bit.ly/batfgx

full text:

Problem signature:
     Problem Event Name:	APPCRASH
     Application Name:	BRNPlayer.vshost.exe
     Application Version:	9.0.30729.1
     Application Timestamp:	488f1c9b
     Fault Module Name:	tiptsf.dll