Change EF database at design time RRS feed

• Question

• I'm very new to EF. I perceived it's promotion both online and personal as being back end independent, but I do not find that to be true. All examples I find, either you have to generate the database from EF or generate EF from the database.  That is disappointingly not database independent which to me would mean that my entity model could be applied to various databases of various architectures via the appropriate mappings. I found no explanations, tutorials, forum topics, or examples to support this. In fact, thus far, the best solution has been regeneration/migration of either the database or EF. This is highly inefficient.

**background**

I have a product to sell and want to tout dynamic database connectivity as an advantage. Now, I can do all of this with my own objects, classes, and SQL the old fashioned way, but it would be immensely quicker and more effective and I could get to market 3 times quicker if I can do this through EF. So, I'm hoping that I'm just missing something.

Forgive me for a lack of examples as I'm protecting my property and this is more a topic of design. But I will say it involves health care so forum participants can understand the magnitude of data that could be involved and why migration is in no way an option. Thanks.

I would tremendously appreciate any guidance.

Thursday, August 2, 2012 3:14 PM

All replies

• Hi,

It seems you mix several things here...

The database independance you see mentioned is that you are able to abstract away the underlying database. So the same code could run against SQL Server or Oracle (in reality you likely have to establish best practice and test as the underlying features are not always the same regardless of the db).