Web API Error - The 'ObjectContent`1' type failed to serialize RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Web API.   I am getting the error at the bottom of this page.  I see many others have gotten this error as well.  Is it something am doing incorrectly, or a bug ?  

Note that I do want to return xml.   If I add the following to the WebApiConfig file (as suggested in another post), I do not get the error, but then I am only getting json.   

Thanks !

var json = config.Formatters.JsonFormatter;json.SerializerSettings.PreserveReferencesHandling =Newtonsoft.Json.PreserveReferencesHandling.Objects;config.Formatters.Remove(config.Formatters.XmlFormatter);   

My classes are below...

namespace DomainClasses { using System; using System.Collections.Generic; public partial class sgtWBOrderHeader { public sgtWBOrderHeader() { this.sgtWBOrderDetails = new HashSet<sgtWBOrderDetail>(); } public int hWebID { get; set; } public Nullable<System.DateTime> OrderDate { get; set; } public string Customer { get; set; } public string CustomerName { get; set; } public string ShipAddr1 { get; set; } public string ShipAddr2 { get; set; } public string ShipAddr3 { get; set; } public virtual ICollection<sgtWBOrderDetail> sgtWBOrderDetails { get; set; } } }

namespace DomainClasses
    {
        using System;
        using System.Collections.Generic;

public partial class sgtWBOrderDetail
        {
            public int dWebID { get; set; }
            public int LineID { get; set; }
            public string StockCode { get; set; }
            public string Description { get; set; }
            public Nullable<decimal> OrderQty { get; set; }
            public Nullable<decimal> UnitPrice { get; set; }

public virtual sgtWBOrderHeader sgtWBOrderHeader { get; set; }
        }
    }

<Error>

<Message>An error has occurred.</Message>
    <ExceptionMessage>
    The 'ObjectContent`1' type failed to serialize the response body for content type 'application/xml; charset=utf-8'.