none
subclassing a tableAdapter to view CommandCollection RRS feed

• Question

• A recent discussion on this forum asked whether you could access the SQL command in various FillBy statements associated with a tableadapter. The conclusion was 'No'. However, I have the same need and it seems like it should be possible through subclassing.

For example, assume Visual Studio has created a memberTableAdapter. I added a class with two 'protoype' ways to access the CommandCollection. This is really rough code - I am new to Visual C# and tableadapters. Will either of these methods not expose the CommandCollection? If the answer is yes perhaps someone could tweak the code to make it actually work - neither one shows up in intellisense.

My ulitmate goal is to modify the SQL select statement such that I can use an "IN" clause (with an arbitrary numbers of parameters) as part of the 'where' statement.

By the way: you can access the SQL Select command text as a normal property of the tableadapter but only after the tableadapter has executed a FillBy, which is clearly after the fact. I want to change the command before it executes. (I suppose as an ugly work-around you could issue a 'fake' FillBy, get the command text, change it, then issue a FillBy with your actual parameters??)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    namespace  InfoMaster.DataSets
    {
        public partial class memberTableAdapter : global ::System.ComponentModel.Component
        {
            private global ::System.Data.OleDb.OleDbCommand [] _commandCollection;

//Option 1
            public string GetCommand(int num)

{
                 return _commandCollection[num].ToString();
            }
    //Option 2
            public override global ::System.Data.OleDb.OleDbCommand [] CommandCollection {
            get
            {
                   return this ._commandCollection;

}
         }
    }

}