none
If Statement with Bookmarks - Word VBA RRS feed

• General discussion

• I'm a true beginner at VBA, so please excuse my lack of vocabulary. 

I'm using merge fields from excel to populate a 'paragraph' in word. Here it is. 

I've bookmarked the entire selection as SF1. Also, I've bookmarked the mail merge field <<SF1Q>> as SF1R. What I'm trying to accomplish is to delete SF1 entirely if SF1R is equal to 0. I'm struggling with Declaring (Dim) SF1R as an Interger or Long. I'm not sure if it is required. I'm attempting to create an if statement that looks like this: If ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("SF1R") = 20 Then Delete SF1 and I'm getting all kinds of errors! If someone can let me know what kind of declarations are required and help in constructing my if statement it would be greatly appreciated!

Tuesday, July 7, 2020 7:30 PM

All replies

• 084113 Exterior Storefront – Total «SF1T» Labor «SF1L»
     «SF1Manu» «SF1Name» | «SF1Finish» with «SF1Year» Year Warranty | 1” Insulated Clear SolarBan70XL | 2 Beads of Caulk
    «SF1Q» Total Openings | Approx. «SF1SF» SF

here is the selection

Tuesday, July 7, 2020 7:31 PM
  • Based on your enquiry, the following should work i.e. if the value of bookmark SF1R = 20 then delete Bookmark SF1

If ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Exists("SF1R") = True Then
            If Val(ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("SF1R").Range.Text) = 20 Then
                If ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Exists("SF1") = True Then
                    ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("SF1").Range.Text = ""
                End If
           End If
    End If

If this is mailmerge then you could instead conditionally merge the whole section based on the value of the field without the need for a macro.

Graham Mayor - Word MVP
    www.gmayor.com

Wednesday, July 8, 2020 2:58 AM
  • Amazing! I would never have figured that. Thank you so much. If you give a mouse a cookie...