none
Excel VBA Trust Center Settings RRS feed

• Question

• I am an experienced Excel VBA programmer. I work for a large bank which is presently using Excel 2007, the Windows 7 operating system, Internet Explorer 9 and Outlook 2007.  My Excel VBA program is designed to interface with a Java web form.  A subroutine populates the web form automatically.  Once the web form is complete, an email is sent in Outlook 12 containing a large portion of data inputted into the Java web form.  The Excel VBA subroutines generally work without a hitch, as long as the user is properly trained and macros have been enabled in the Trust Center Settings.

I have a client who is experiencing the following error: "Run Time Error 1004: Programmatic Access to VBA Project is Not Trusted". The issue is, macros have been enabled on their machine for the Excel/VBA workbook. The VBA subroutines operate flawlessly until, at some point, this error occurs. In my 20 years of Excel VBA programming, I have never experienced this particular error during processing; it has always occurred as the result of the user not invoking macros at the beginning. 

Any advice you can offer for this issue is greatly appreciated.

Willburr

Thursday, February 12, 2015 12:53 PM

All replies

• In most situations you can run a little routine to check if access to the VBA Project is allowed, if not advise the user what to do and abort 

Sub abc()
    If ProjectIsNA Then
        'abort
        Exit Sub
    End If
    ' do stuff
    End Sub

Function ProjectIsNA() As Boolean
        On Error Resume Next
        If Len(ThisWorkbook.VBProject.Name) Then
        End If
        If Err.Number Then
            MsgBox "This app needs access to VBA Project, please tick -" & vbCr & _
                   "Options, Trust Center, Trust Center Settings, Macro settings, Trust Access to VBA Project"
        End If
    End Function

However in some cases the the setting may be subject to group policy settings,