none
Odd error while populating a DataGridView from a MSSQL database RRS feed

• Question

• Hey Guys,

I am populating a bunch of DataGridViews reprenting cross sections of different tables from a MSSQL database.  The DGV's repopulate themselves on certain events such as when the user changes a drop down box, etc.  I am new to VB so I might be doing this oddly.  The error occurs around these lines...

Code Snippet

Public Sub fillDataGridView(ByVal query As String, ByRef view As DataGridView)
            command.CommandText = query
            Dim da As SqlDataAdapter
            Dim ds As DataSet
            Dim dt As DataTable
            da = New SqlDataAdapter(command)
            ds = New DataSet()
            da.Fill(ds, "TableX")    <----- Error happens here
            dt = ds.Tables("TableX")
            view.DataSource = dt
            'view.AutoResizeColumns(DataGridViewAutoSizeColumnsMode.AllCells)
            view.Update()
        End Sub

The error is "InvalidOperationException is Unhandled: The command execution cannot proceed due to a pending asynchronous operation already in progress.". 

I can handle the error but I don't know what the "... command execution cannot proceed due to a pending asynchronous operation already in progress." part means.  I haven't even been able to Google an answer to this one.

Thanks all,

Thursday, August 30, 2007 9:05 PM

Answers

• its bad practice to open your connection when you are not using it and leaving it open until your app closes - DO NOT do this, connecting to databases are expensive and should only use it when you require it - so open the connection when you are going to do something with the database and close it straight after and dispose of the SqlCommand and SqlConnection objects to free up memory afterwards

Friday, August 31, 2007 5:08 PM

All replies

• Hi
       My first doubt is to the parameter query which statement u r going to pass. As per the code it will be the select statement.