none
Promote To DestinationPartyName From Message Data RRS feed

• Question

•  

I have an Orchestration setup that connects to a WCF Service that pulls 856 data from my ERP system.  One of the fields in that data is the partner Name that this data belongs to.  I'd like to promote that data to the DestinationPartyName for EDI enveloping.  Should I use the Rule Engine to do that, or create a custom pipeline to do that?  Either solution, I'm afraid to say, I have never done before.  So, if someone could provide me with some details to accomplish this I would greatly appreciate it.  Again, all I need is to take data from my PartyName field and send it to the EDI.DestinationPartyName field for EDI enveloping.

Thank you,

David

Wednesday, June 4, 2008 5:34 PM

Answers

• Ok,

The problem happened to be the fact that in my BizTalk solution, the namespace included "EDI".  When the XLANGs tried to find DestinationPartyName it looked in my Business.EDI namespace first and since it couldn't find it there it threw the error.

Solution: I had to go through my BizTalk solution and change all of the namespaces to Edi (Business.Edi) instead of EDI.  Once I did that (an hour later) the expression worked just fine.

Thanks for all the help,

David

Wednesday, June 11, 2008 9:20 PM

All replies

• Hi David,

In order to promote a property from the message content you need to write an orchestretation or custom pipeline components. For samples of pipelines you can see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa578544.aspx. For samples of orchestrations you can see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa561986.aspx.

Most probably since you already have an orchestration, you can do something like the following in your orchestration to promote the property

Say your bts message is stored in variable btsMessage, then

btsMessage(EDI.DestinationPartyName) = <party name> will promote the property EDI.DestinationPartyName in that message.

Thanks,

Koushik