none
WDF Serial Driver -Win32API RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to this field and I have to build serial driver for some device. According  to serial communication following Win32API function should be support by the driver. I check some sample driver in MSDN and got to know that when we call ReadFile   from application driver will call SerialEvtIoRead (define in serialp.h) function in driver side. Functionality in  ReadFile   should be implement in SerialEvtIoRead function. Same time WriteFile have  SerialEvtIoWrite  finction in driver side. 

1.        IS this correct.
    2.        Serial communication have bellow listed Win32API and what is the relevant functions of each API in driver side. Where should find this information?

ReadFile   è SerialEvtIoRead  (serialp.h)

WriteFile è SerialEvtIoWrite (serialp.h)

WaitCommEvent

CloseHandle

SetupComm

SetCommMask

SetCommState

SetCommTimeouts

CreateFile

BuildCommDCB

BuildCommDCBAndTimeouts

ClearCommBreak

ClearCommError

CommConfigDialog

EscapeCommFunction

GetCommConfig

GetCommMask

GetCommModemStatus

GetCommProperties

GetCommState

GetCommTimeouts

GetDefaultCommConfig

PurgeComm

SetCommBreak

SetCommConfig

SetDegaultCommConfig

TransmitCommChar

Thanks in advance

Hasitha Perera

• Edited by HP Hasitha Friday, May 31, 2013 10:31 AM
    Friday, May 31, 2013 10:05 AM

Answers

• Why do you want this mapping?  If your job is to create a serial driver then what you should be caring about are the interactions of the driver and the hardware.  So if you look in serial.h you will see a number of calls and macros such as SerialWriteRegisterUChar that interact with the hardware. 

If your hardware looks like a standard serial port then things are easy, since you are just using these calls.