This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm posting about a problem that has been addressed in the past, but the pure wealth of options and acronyms posted confused me. I'm a new Masters student, and I'm used to developing all my projects under a Linux environment. As such, I'm very new to developing applications using VS. I'm using Visual Studio 2005 (not Express) and developing in C++. I'm developing an OpenGL program, and the template I used to set it up uses Managed C++.

All I want to do is develop an application executable that can be run on machines that don't have VS2005 installed. I don't want to force my supervisors to install VS2005 to simply run my various applications.

I've built a debug version, found the executable in the program directory, and it runs fine on my machine (and on other machines with VS2005 installed). When I move it to machines (WinXP SP2) that don't have VS2005 installed, I get the "classic" error message in the subject.

The other options I've seen in threads are either geared towards C++ Express, or they involve some type of installer (which I don't want to have to get my supervisor to run if at all possible).

If someone could provide some help targeted specifically for my situation, I would be very grateful. If you need more information posted about project settings, please clarify and I will post more information (though, keep in mind I'm not too familiar with the whole VS environment yet, so please be very clear about what information you need).

Thanks a lot to anyone who can help me!
    Sunday, November 26, 2006 12:11 AM

Answers

• looks like there is something in the manifest file that cannot be found. The manifest lists the dlls that are required to run an applicaiton.

You need to use static linked libraries, not dynamic linked libraries and the problem should disappear.

Sunday, November 26, 2006 1:58 AM