none
Exactly what can Team Members change Enterprise Project Type tasks?

Question

• I'm still learning the ins-and-outs of Project Online.  The biggest question is this, what fields can a Team Member modify so that when an approver approves it it will automatically update the schedule?  

For example: A Team Member updates the Start and Finish Dates for a task they've been assigned.  Will their changes be automatically applied to the master schedule once the Project Manager approves the request or will the Project Manager have to make changes to the Start and Finish Dates manually?

What fields will PWA automatically update after a request approval and what fields will not be automatically updated?

Let me know if I need to explain myself more.

Friday, February 09, 2018 6:30 PM

Answers

• In General, team members can modify the 'assignment' level fields that have been added to the view. Once approved, these get updated in the schedule automatically, and in addition the project scheduling engine will perform any calculations needed.

Some of the fields are work, actual work, remaining work, duration, remaining duration,start and finish.

It is advisable to zero in on the update mechanism and then  include those fields only to let team members update.

Cheers,

Prasanna Adavi, Project MVP

Blog:   Podcast:    Twitter:    LinkedIn:   

• Marked as answer by Martinro73 Wednesday, February 14, 2018 5:08 PM
    Saturday, February 10, 2018 12:01 AM

All replies

• In General, team members can modify the 'assignment' level fields that have been added to the view. Once approved, these get updated in the schedule automatically, and in addition the project scheduling engine will perform any calculations needed.

Some of the fields are work, actual work, remaining work, duration, remaining duration,start and finish.

It is advisable to zero in on the update mechanism and then  include those fields only to let team members update.

Cheers,