none
need help, im a newbie...2 questions RRS feed

• Question

1. Once I have my website open and all my files appear to the left. How do I add a logo/image to a folder that I have created back in Frontpage called images? I need to add a logo in order to use it on my page.
    2. If I try to hyperlink an existing page to another, it doesnt work because when i go to click on it in real time it prompts me for the FTP user name and password. Our members need to access pages and not have to log in using my credentials.

If anyone could reply I would greatly appreciate it!

• Edited by Marseeni Tuesday, January 24, 2012 2:27 PM
    Tuesday, January 24, 2012 2:27 PM

All replies

• It seems from your second question that you are editing a live remote site. This isn't good practice for a number of reasons and it's far better to edit a local copy. If you don't have a local copy, publish the site to your PC and work on the site locally.

This would also solve the first problem, in that you can copy the logo image into the images folder with copy and paste, either in EW itself or using Windows Explorer.

HTH

Ian Haynes

EW - V4 Add-Ins
    EW - Resources, hints and tips
    EW - Design for the Mobile Web
    Tuesday, January 24, 2012 2:57 PM
  • Ian,

Thanks for your reply. I realized that I can't download photos to the site without getting the full version. It is "greyed" out when I go to the insert tab at the top.

let me ask you this?

Can I insert PDF files as well by clicking on the insert link at the top?

How come when I go to right click and save location of an image already on the sidebar and put it into my event listing, it wont allow me too and shows up as an FTP site with log on credentials being asked for?

I have always  done the site live. I dont have the knowledge or capability to do the copying to our server than back.

marci
    Tuesday, January 24, 2012 4:48 PM