VB code for total price RRS feed

• Question

• I need to write a code that would allow users to enter a quantity, and cost. then have it calculate the price.

but my calculation is wrong. Im new to this but this is what I have and its not working.

ublic Class frmmain
        Private frmmain As Decimal

Private Sub btnCalculate_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnCalculate.Click
            Dim decPrice(9) As Double
            Dim txtQuantity As Integer

txtTotal = decPrice * txtQuantity

End Sub

Private Sub txtTotal_TextChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles txtTotal.TextChanged
            Dim decPrice As Integer
            txtTotal = txtQuantity * decPrice(10)
        End Sub

Monday, October 15, 2012 3:24 AM

Answers

• Create a program that allows users to enter an item code, a quantity, and a cost
    per item for an order and outputs the total for the order. You need to:
    • Write the declaration for the data structures you will use to store the data.

Unfortunately, your task list has left out the logical starting point, which is to design a form in a way that allows those procedures to be carried out.

The user needs to enter an item code, a quantity and a cost.  So you will need a text box for each of those. These will be txtItem, txtQuantity and txtPrice.  You could also have a text box to dsplay a total - txtTotal.

If the user is going to do this up to ten times you need a button for the user to say "here is the information for one item".  It does what I think yo are trying to do witht he TextChanged event.  This is btnCalculate.   You should also let the user know what they have done so far - I would recommend a list box - ListBox1 in this example.  You also might need a button for the user to say "That's the end of the order" (although you could display a continuous update (as in this example), so there's no need for that).