Subculutures are ignored? RRS feed

• Question

• For multilingual apps, it seems subcultures are ignored. For example, I can specify French (Canada) as a language I want to support, but French will only ever work for French (France). I can waste all the time in the world trying to figure out what's wrong, but a device whose current culture is fr-CA will only ever pull fr-FR despite the existence of fr-CA resources.

Are subcultures just not supported on Windows Phone 8 despite being listed as options for the manifest?

Monday, February 10, 2014 2:00 AM

Answers

• So someone off the forums helped me with this.

The piece of the puzzle I was missing is that the display language for the app is set by CultureInfo.CurrentUICulture. As a n00b programmer, I was unaware this object existed and was basing everything about language off of CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.

So, since it pulls display language from CurrentUICulture, subcultures are ignored because they are NOT display languages. English and English (United States) are display languages thus en-GB and en-US resources are no issue. French only has one option, so CurrentUICulture will always be fr-FR.

So if I want to use other subcultures such as fr-CA or fr-CH to use that Swiss "huitante" VS "quatre-vingts" example from before, I have to manually set CurrentUICulture.

Put this as the first lines of code in the app's constructor:

using System.Globalization;
    using System.Threading;

public App()
    {
         if (CultureInfo.CurrentCulture.Name == "fr-CA")
              Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentUICulture = Thread.CurrentThread.CurrentCulture;

}

That will set the CurrentUICulture to fr-CA. Replace fr-CA with the culture code that you've declared in your app manifest and have resource files for. The list of supported display languages is here.

Thank you for everyone that helped me!

• Marked as answer by EntegyMVP Thursday, March 13, 2014 1:32 AM
    Thursday, March 13, 2014 1:31 AM

All replies