none
Project Server 2010: populating a custom field using an event handler RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

i'm new to project server programming and i have been trying to find a way to populate a custom field when a project is created.

I'm using an OnCreated Event handler and have tried the following:

WebSvcProject.

ProjectDataSet prjDS = prjSvc.ReadProject(e.ProjectGuid, WebSvcProject.DataStoreEnum

.WorkingStore);

foreach (WebSvcProject.ProjectDataSet.ProjectCustomFieldsRow cfRow in

prjDS.ProjectCustomFields)

{

if

(cfRow.MD_PROP_UID == CustomFieldGuid)

{

cfRow.TEXT_VALUE =

"Custom Value goes here"

;

break

;

}

}

I tried outputting the projectdataset to an XML file and the field i want to populate is not listed in the projectcustomfields available. I have checked in pwa server settings and the custome field is set as a project level field.

Any ideas what i am doing wrong, or if i'm going about this the wrong way how should this be done?

Thanks

Andy

Thursday, May 19, 2011 4:35 PM

Answers

• Hi Andy,

Unless you add a Project custom field when the project is created, for example by configuring the CF definition in PWA to choose a lookup table value as a default, or by specifically adding the CF, no Project CF row will exist in the ProjectCustomFields data.

In the Project Created event handler, check the project out, add the custom field by using QueueUpdateProject, and then check the project back in.

--Jim

Jim Corbin [MSFT]
    • Marked as answer by lawes_a Friday, May 20, 2011 3:19 PM
    Thursday, May 19, 2011 8:54 PM

All replies

• Hi Andy,

Unless you add a Project custom field when the project is created, for example by configuring the CF definition in PWA to choose a lookup table value as a default, or by specifically adding the CF, no Project CF row will exist in the ProjectCustomFields data.

In the Project Created event handler, check the project out, add the custom field by using QueueUpdateProject, and then check the project back in.