Image control refreshing at postback when deployed RRS feed

• Question

• User-744150743 posted

I have an image control which behaved perfectly on my local IIS, but after deploying it to my web host, it now refreshes on each postback, making it unacceptably slow.

The image control represents a map with GPS points drawn on it. It is loaded from another aspx which draws the GPS points on the jpg. It does not change after the initial load. All of my controls are .  I have a smaller image control, a map pointer, which moves to the next GPS point when a button is pressed. I'm suspecting that's not the problem since it could be moved with client script (though here the server script and postback is needed to get the next GPS position and determine if the next map should be loaded). I also have a hidden div which overlaps this control (a "tooltip"-type panel) and is z-ordered in front of it, though it is usually not visible.

I am new to ASP.NET, so I hope I am not misunderstanding the postback concept.  My understanding is that since the content of the control is not changing, it should not need to be refreshed. It did not seem to refresh when run locally, though it would have been much faster. There is also another image control which I change every so often, which is NOT being refreshed, leading me to think that my map should not have to either.

Is there a config setting that might be causing this when deployed? Is this a job for AJAX?

I could put the url here so that you could see what I mean. Is that appropriate?

Monday, December 1, 2008 12:30 PM

Answers

• User-744150743 posted

I found the solution. The reason that my map image was being refreshed with each postback was because it was being generated by another page that saved the altered bitmap to the output stream, ie:

imgMap.ImageUrl = "LoadImage.aspx"