none
VS2012 Word 2010 Addin - installs, but doesn't load RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there

I'm a VBA developer who has finally made the leap to VSTO.  I've successfully created my addin - runs on my development machine, and once I got a Digital Certificate - it installs on my VM running Windows 7 (64bit) and MS Office 2010 (32 bit) - I am using InstallShield LE 2012 and for some reason need to sign the setup.exe using signtool.

I've chosen .NET4 framework (full) - not sure if I need it or could use the Client.

After installing the vsto and dll files are installed the Program Files (x86) folder.  But when I open MS Word and look at the COM addins - it's not in the list.  But, If I double-click the VSTO file, it will install, and runs like a bought one.  In my Installer setup I defined the addin registry keys:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Office\Addins\[ADDIN]

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\Addins\[ADDIN]

(DWORD) LoadBehaviour = 3; Manifest = file path (string); Description and FriendlyName = Addin name (string)

Do I need to add a process to the installer to have the addin load at the end? Something I've seen alluded to but not spelt out - if so could you point me to step by step instructions for how to do that.

I jut feel like I've been going around in circles from forum to forum, blog to blog, and half of them are different versions, and it's not clear what's still relevant and what's not in 2012.

I must be soooooo close, but something is missing - hopefully simple.

Would it be possible for someone to list all the critical components that need to be defined.

Do I need to Publish?  or is that just for ClickOnce deployments.  I am using Release, and creating a singleimage (setup.exe)