none
Late binding C DLL with c# RRS feed

• Question

• Hello fellas,

I am developing an application where I need to take user inputs, process them and give the results...here for processing I'm using C DLL which user wants me to use. i.e. I don't know the DLL which I'm going to use at compile time. That C Dll may contain different methods such as Add, subtract, multiply,etc...But I don't know their prototypes as I said earlier I'm using DLL configured by the user with some OpenDialog().

So is there way to achieve this? I have searched a lot on net but got the reply as if its a COM or .NET DLL it can be possible using reflection emit. It means for C DLL it can not be....:(

Can you please help me as I am very new to this stuff...

Thanks in advance...
    Thursday, March 26, 2009 10:40 AM

Answers

• santoshdarekar said:

I know that it is not possible to call a C function if I dont know its signature.. That is my problem, I want some method or a way to get this signature from the DLL (C DLL). Is it possible to do so??

Generally, no. C DLLs don't contain any metadata you can query. So you can either invent your own metadata format to describe the functions exported from the DLLs, or consider a more modern technology to base your extensibility on. Both COM and .NET provide rich metadata that makes this so much easier.

Mattias, C# MVP
    • Marked as answer by Zhi-Xin Ye Wednesday, April 1, 2009 7:03 AM
    Thursday, March 26, 2009 12:43 PM
  • To late bind and execute native functions given the library path, function name and signature use LoadLibrary/GetProcAddress/ Marshall.GetDelegateFromFunctionPointer. If you really have to do this follow Mattias's advice and invent some format (XML based for example) to express the function return values and parameters, however be aware that supporting anything more then simple built in types (int,short, char*, etc) will quickly become a mess.

HTH

Friday, March 27, 2009 4:31 PM

All replies