ASP.NET 4.0 and LDAP Authentication on IIS 6 RRS feed

• Question

• User657329123 posted

Hi there,

I'm new with asp.net and I'm writing an application. The login form displays username of the person who has logged in to the PC.  They can enter their AD password to login.  After they login, I want to get their Full Name from LDAP. 

Simple isn't it. Well may be for some of you, but I've trying to do this for days now and still I'm not making any progress. I googled it but still didn't  find anything helpful. I'm quite frustrated. I'm using Integrated Windows Authentication and Impersonation is set to true.

I'm running IIS 6.0 and ASP.NET 4.0.

Can somebody point me to code as how to do this? Please explain your answer step by step.

Thanks in advance,

Joe

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 6:08 PM

Answers

• User1508394307 posted

Hi Joe,

this question has been asked already many times on this forum.

All what you need to do is to get a value of the "displayName" property.

string ldapPath = "LDAP://corp.net:389/dc=corp,dc=net";
            DirectoryEntry de = new DirectoryEntry(ldapPath);
            DirectorySearcher s = new DirectorySearcher(de);

string userName = User.Identity.Name;
            s.Filter = "(name=" + userName + ")";

s.PropertiesToLoad.Add("displayName");
            SearchResult sr = s.FindOne();

Label1.Text = "Name is " + sr.Properties["displayName"] + "";

See more details http://forums.asp.net/t/1665598.aspx?How+to+get+Full+Name+from+AD+LDAP+ 

Another thing is that if you on Integrated Windows Authentication then you do not need to enter any AD password to login because it is already integrated. Also, impersonation is not required for such things as full name, etc. So, if the above code will not help, please explain your requirements in more details.

Hope this helps.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, April 24, 2014 3:23 AM
  • User1508394307 posted

Joe,