small basic compiler execution RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a student and I have a subject that requires me to write a report on programming language compilers. I was tasked to write on Small Basic. I am wondering if someone here knows how the Small Basic compiler interprets.

Take the following statement: 

TextWindow.WriteLine("Hello, World!")

After the developer hits F5(run), what exactly happens? How does the compiler interpret this statement for the machine to understand, for multiple statements as well. Feedback would be greatly appreciated. If this is not the right forum to be posting this kind of question, please advice me.

Thank you!

• Edited by jdalino Friday, September 30, 2011 11:20 AM
    Friday, September 30, 2011 10:55 AM

Answers

• I disagree, Oskariok, Small Basic behaves like any other DotNET Language.  The code is converted to CIL(Common Intermediate Language) then it is run through the CLR (Common Language Runtime) to produce native code a computer can run. 

Small Basic does have the feature of creating a vb project from Small Basic source, but it is a seperate function from running a Small Basic program

• Marked as answer by jdalino Sunday, October 2, 2011 12:18 PM
    Friday, September 30, 2011 8:15 PM

All replies

• Compiler just converts your code to visual basic and inserts few lines.

For example

TextWindow.WriteLine("Hello World!")

is

Friend NotInheritable Class _SmallBasicProgram
    <br/>    PrivateScope Shared Sub _Main()
            SmallBasicApplication.BeginProgram()
            TextWindow.WriteLine("Hello World!")
            TextWindow.PauseIfVisible()
            SmallBasicApplication.EndProgram()
        End Sub

End Class

And then compiler uses vb compiler to convert vb code to executable.

Sorry My Bad English
    Friday, September 30, 2011 12:36 PM