Revoke privilege from Application owner (Cannot edit table ..) ? Is that right ? RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi Everyone ,
          I am A DBA , Today I was with a discussion with Development manager , He asked me to create new SQL Server database as production env, This is easy :-)
    but the point is not here as he ask me a weird thing , he need from me create user X for X database and keep password with me not with application admin .
        He think I should keep password with me even in web.config file , I should only the one use this user X for an application .
        He also think any changes on table like add column , or create new table on this database should be created by DBA as he having the user . I don't believe the DBA his job adding a column or create a table for application. I am ever heard like this  .
       The DBA can help on that whenever developer face an issue , This kind of work will kill a DBA and become like an operation guy ? I would like to hear from you if I am wrong .
       Thanks in advance .
    Sunday, October 2, 2011 1:12 PM

All replies

• >>>>He also think any changes on table like add column , or create new table on this database should be created by DBA as he having the user .

It depends on company's policy. Usually if a database is a production only DBA adding columns/rebuild indexes/create new tables and etc.. Developers test their application on dev.machine and the responsibility of DBA is to compare/test the data on Dev,machine and if everything is OK combine the structure. 

Are you afraid that  you will be adding hundred of columns or creating thousands of tables day by day :-))))? 

Best Regards, Uri Dimant SQL Server MVP http://dimantdatabasesolutions.blogspot.com/ http://sqlblog.com/blogs/uri_dimant/
    Sunday, October 2, 2011 1:24 PM