Public Sub RRS feed

• Question

• User1636054312 posted

Hello,

i'm quite new to asp.net using vb.

at the moment i've got created a sub to write some actions to a xml log file.

everything works fine, the only thing is that i need the source code on multiple pages, is there a way to include this code from a sepperate file, so when i've got some changes to make to the sub i only have to change it once?

Code:

Private sub WriteXML(ByVal XMLAction As String, ByVal XMLType As String)
            Dim f As File
            Dim FileName As String = Server.MapPath("log\log.xml")
            Dim lines As List(Of String) = New List(Of String)(File.ReadAllLines(FileName))

'Remove Last Line
            lines.RemoveAt(lines.Count - 1)
            File.WriteAllLines(FileName, lines.ToArray())

Dim fstream As FileStream
            If f.Exists(FileName) Then
                fstream = New FileStream(FileName, FileMode.Append, FileAccess.Write)
            Else
                fstream = New FileStream(FileName, FileMode.Create, FileAccess.ReadWrite)
            End If
            Dim sWriter As New StreamWriter(fstream)

'Write Lines To XML File
        	sWriter.Write("<event>")
        	sWriter.Write(Environment.NewLine)

sWriter.Write("<Type>" 			+ XMLType 				+ "</Type>" 		+ Environment.NewLine)
        		sWriter.Write("<User>" 			+ Session("User") 		+ "</User>" 		+ Environment.NewLine)
       		 	sWriter.Write("<Speaker>" 		+ ""					+ "</Speaker>" 		+ Environment.NewLine)
    	   	 	sWriter.Write("<Session>" 		+ ""					+ "</Session>" 		+ Environment.NewLine)
      		  	sWriter.Write("<Presentation>" 	+ ""					+ "</Presentation>" + Environment.NewLine)
    		    sWriter.Write("<Date>" 			+ now() 				+ "</Date>" 		+ Environment.NewLine)
    		    sWriter.Write("<Info>"			+ XMLAction 			+ "</Info>" 		+ Environment.NewLine)

sWriter.Write("</event>" + Environment.NewLine)

sWriter.Write("</log>")
            sWriter.Close()
        End Sub	

Thanx in advanced

Best Regards,