none
need help with using linq to sql to get prices from a sql database in a format i can use in calculations RRS feed

• Question

• Hi
    I am new to visual basic express 2010 and this is my first project using vb 2010 express

I have posted before but I am still in total confusion here so desparately need help. I have watched videos and looked at walkthrus   and read up about linq to sql on msdn ( a lot of it was over my head there) for over a month and have ended up totally confused as to what  I am supposed to do to get the information from the database in a usable form.

Basically I have prices for shop items stored in the data base with their prices entered as cents. ie $1.50 is entered as 150  which is the price per metre

In a sql database  called prices.mdf. I have got several tables in this which basically have an id, a description and a price. eg one table is called Timberprices and the columns and datatypes in there are id which is an integer, timber in cents which is an nvarchar(100) and a price which is money.
    When you look at the entries added under these colums there is 19 enteries. ie 19 diff size timbers and prices with ids from 1-19.

Under datasources I have made a dataset called getpricesdataset.xsd This has all the tables from the mdf database in it. It is called getpricesdatacontext

I have also made a linq to sql with all the tables in it called getprices.dbml I dragged all the tables from the prices.mdf tables folder to the ord designer

What i want to do is access the database and get the price for a particular size timber based on the id in the table  and have this price in a format i can work with in calculations eg multiply it by numbers etc to work out the price of the timber used.

If you look in the dbml at the timberprice table its name is timberprice and source is dbo.timberprices and the names of the properties is id, timber_in_cents, and price