none
Extending the measuring distance range of Kinect2? RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Kinect Team,

my name is Axel Mertes and I am from Germany. I studied computer science and work as CTO for Magna Mana Production, a film & post production company I founded in 1996 with two partners.

I am often involved in "special interest" projects outside normal film making, but for events, museums etc. including interactive installations.

Right now I am working on an art project where we need ToF camera capabilities. I digged and dived deep into ToF cameras now and the Kinect2 seems to be a killer device compared to many industrial products. I only found one cameras/sensors that claim a better resolutions of 640x480y:

Basler ToF camera (Panasonic sensor, formerly used in now retired D-Imager product line):

http://www.baslerweb.com/en/products/cameras/3d-cameras/time-of-flight-camera?gclid=Cj0KEQjw57W9BRDM9_a-2vWJ68EBEiQAwPNFK-jVdx97xmlVbHhTXlylvarWHBtLlWj8OWVVFPJ4W-gaAsBq8P8HAQ

However, this camera is very expensive and the support is minimal, nowhere near Kinect2.

I have a few questions and even proposals and after all my research I think you might be the best contact to answer these or know at least who can do that. 

You can send me an email to axel at magnamana point com if you like. 

So here we go:

1. Is the ToF camera inside the Kinect2 using the pulsed 2-phase distance measurement or continuous-wave method as explained e.g. here in the Texas Instrument whitepaper for ToF cameras? See page 2 of the following document:

http://www.ti.com.cn/cn/lit/wp/sloa190b/sloa190b.pdf

This is interesting for me to see how much external IR (sun-) light might affect operation of the Kinect2.

2. Is there a way to extend the depth range of the Kinect2 system?