PowerPivot Bridge Tables RRS feed

• Question

• I have 3 tables: Customer, Address, CustomerAddress (i.e. bridge table).  What I want to do is perform a pivot table breakdown by the number of customers per State (State comes from the Address).  However, I cannot figure out how to make this work with the CustomerAddress bridge table.  I believe this has do be done using a DAX expression (which seems rather ridiculous and limited). I'm new at PowerPivot, but a seasoned SQL programmer, so being stuck on such a trivial item is getting really frustrating! Any help would be appreciated.
    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 5:21 PM

Answers

• I've double checked too in a simple model similar to the setup that Murali has except modelling it as a many to many and using my calc expression and it works fine for me. Are you saying that you still getting repeating values in your pivot tables?

Are your relationships setup to look like the following?

Customer <---  CustomerAddress ---> Address

I'm assuming that because you have a bridge one Customer can have multiple addresses or one address can have multiple customers.

http://darren.gosbell.com - please mark correct answers

• Edited by Darren GosbellMVP Friday, April 11, 2014 1:29 AM clarifying m2m scenario
    • Proposed as answer by Michael Amadi Friday, April 11, 2014 12:45 PM
    • Marked as answer by Elvis Long Tuesday, April 22, 2014 2:36 AM
    Thursday, April 10, 2014 9:13 PM
  • PowerPivot will automatically follow chains of 1 to many relationships, but you do currently need to use DAX when you introduce many to many bridge tables. Fortunately the pattern for many-to-many calculations is quite simple:

[Customer Count] = CALCULATE( COUNTROWS( 'Customer' ) , 'CustomerAddress' )

Thursday, April 10, 2014 3:53 AM