Local playback of video using MediaElement

Question

• Hello,

I'm trying to use C++ to build a metro app, and trying to have a video stored on my local harddrive play through a MediaElement.

I'm using XAML to code my interface, and when I create the MediaElement and tell it where the video is, the preview shows the first frame of the video. However, when I run the code nothing starts.

Here is the code for my MediaElement:

<Grid x:Name="LayoutRoot" Background="#FF0C0C0C">
      <StackPanel Orientation="Horizontal" x:Name="stk">
        <MediaElement Source="S2.mp4" Width="1280" Height="720"></MediaElement>
      </StackPanel>
    </Grid>

I'm wondering what is wrong. I'm just starting out with Metro Apps and XAML, so any help would be appreciated. (I've been strictly C++ before now, but I'm liking the ease of the UI using XAML so I'm trying it out)

EDIT: I've been looking through the //build lab about playing media in Metro Apps and I'm still having a problem.

EDIT2: I've figured it out. My initial code wasn't working obviously, and then I found the lab. The lab also wasn't working because for some reason when I tried to set the source of the video I was using '\\' and that wasn't working to denote a folder. I changed it to '/' and it worked fine.

Alex

• Edited by DLAlex Monday, January 23, 2012 4:45 PM
    Monday, January 23, 2012 3:09 PM

Answers

All replies

• Thanks for sharing your finding with the forum Alex!
    Tuesday, January 24, 2012 8:43 PM
  • Set the source of the video to '/' instead of using '\\'.
    James Windows Media SDK Technologies Microsoft Developer Services http://blogs.msdn.com/mediasdkstuff/
    Thursday, January 26, 2012 1:48 AM
  • Hi DLAlex,

I got some problem ,I am trying to use C++ to play audio,Here is my code

in Xaml:

<MediaElement Source="msg.wav" AutoPlay="False" x:Name="AudioPlay"></MediaElement>

in Cpp:

AudioPlay->Play();

It works well when I write in the c#,but It doesn't work when I write in C++.