none
Where can I find resources to obtain more productivity with ASP.NET RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

First of all I would like to explain the scenario that the company that I'm working for is based.:

1. The company have a large number of "huge" desktop applications tipically CRUD (Create/Read/Update/Delete), of course with some variations and business rules involved.

2. These applications were written in VB 6.0 and the reporting tool used was Crystal Reports 7.0.

3. Such applications have the business rules inside of the GUI and no COM component was used at all, they actually have a mix of this business rules in stored procedures and in VB code.

Our challenge is to migrate these applications to .NET and at the same time transform them into Web Applications (using ASP.NET) to aggregate business value.

I'm an experienced programmer (11 years) and my boss is uneasy with the time it takes to convert a simple VB6 form to a functional ASP.NET webform (a medium form with 02 grids takes 03 days considering the DAL BLL and everything that a serious application must have these days).

To not spend to much time with web design I adopted extjs as the GUI framework (http://www.extjs.com) it's a very nice framework but it's server independent so we have some work on server side to write JSON to the HttpResponse object and we lost the ASP.NET pallete components since extjs has its own components such as grids, combos  and so on.

** We have some theories about what is slowing down this conversion proccess **

1. Create DAL (typed dataset) and BLL manually .... Does exist some way to automate this creation or even use a different pattern ?

2. Extjs seems to somehow slowing down the process because you have to deal with the Javascript directly ....