none
Extending Eddie RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

Up til now, I’ve been building robots with Lego Mindstorms.  I've run into a lot of limitations that I’d like to explore solving by using MRS and other hardware.  I'm brand new to MRS.  I’m mostly a software guy, I want to use as much off-the-shelf hardware  (and also software) as I possibly can. 

Questions: 

Eddie looks interesting, but are there motors, robotic arms etc you can easily hook up to eddie without bothering with a lot of hardware level details?  If not eddie, is there another suggested alternative?  

Is it easy add extensions I may add to eddie (or mindstorms or another bot)  in the simulator?  (say i want to add a simple arm).  Is there a catalog of parts I can add in the simulator?  

Any pointers to examples or additional documentation covering the latest version of MRS with regards to these questions would really help!

Thanks!

Saturday, December 31, 2011 12:06 AM

Answers

• The easiest way to determine which USB Host Controller corresponds to which USB port on your PC is to plug something into each port in turn, e.g. a flash drive, and then look in the Device Manager.

In Device Manager do the following:

• Select View \ Devices by Connection
    • Expand the first item in the list. This is usually your PC. (Click on the small arrow beside the item to expand it).
    • Keep expanding items until you find the PCI bus.
    • Expand the PCI bus.
    • Expand each of the USB Host Controllers.
    • Expand each USB hub.
    • Look for your device.

Now move the device to another port and see if it ends up on a different USB Host Controller.

Many PCs have internal USB hubs and so even though you see lots of ports, they might all be "shared" on a single controller. If you find that two devices do not work properly when they are both plugged in, try to find different USB Host Controllers for them to use.