Auto-generated INT IDs on a column in Azure SQL Data Warehouse RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I am new to Azure SQL Data Warehouse and I know that IDENTITY is not supported in Azure SQL Data Warehouse, but is there another way to automatically assign an INT value to a column on insert in the same manner? 

Kind regards,

Sasha

Tuesday, October 27, 2015 5:24 PM

Answers

• Hi Sasha

yes there is a work around, what you can do is begin by getting the Max RowId from the table, then in the select statement from you source use a row_number() statement to generate the row number, then simply add the MaxRowId to the row_number to create sequential series of RowId's,

DECLARE @MaxRowId int
    SET @MaxRowId = (SELECT ISNULL(MAX(RowId),0) FROM dbo.MyTable)

INSERT INTO MyTable (RowId, col1, col2)
    SELECT
      ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY [col1]) + @MaxRowId RowId
      , [col1]
      , [col2]
    FROM dbo.MySourceTable

Tuesday, October 27, 2015 6:50 PM

All replies

• Hi Sasha

yes there is a work around, what you can do is begin by getting the Max RowId from the table, then in the select statement from you source use a row_number() statement to generate the row number, then simply add the MaxRowId to the row_number to create sequential series of RowId's,

DECLARE @MaxRowId int
    SET @MaxRowId = (SELECT ISNULL(MAX(RowId),0) FROM dbo.MyTable)

INSERT INTO MyTable (RowId, col1, col2)
    SELECT
      ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY [col1]) + @MaxRowId RowId
      , [col1]
      , [col2]
    FROM dbo.MySourceTable

Tuesday, October 27, 2015 6:50 PM
  • Hi Michael,

Thank you for your reply. But wouldn't this approach cause problems during simultaneous inserts by different processes? In addition, selecting max ID prior to insert seems very inefficient to me.

I think there must be some proper workaround and It would be good to know if this functionality is on the roadmap and if not, it would be really good to know why it isn't.

Kind regards,

Sasha