none
Templates - not opening as .docm RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting a question. I've been put in the "enviable" position of taking over the development and implementation of a custom ribbon which allows users to open templates stored in a network share via a custom ribbon. The contractor in charge of this project no longer works for us. I haven't done this type of work before. I'm working things out but I need a hand.

We have some .dotm files in the network share. When I double click on them they load as a .docm. If I access the same files through the custom ribbon they load as a .dotm and when you choose save the file type defaults to .dotm. I'd like to have the file open as a .docm.

I'm guessing this is to do with how the file is called.  Below is he code used when the user double clicks one of the templates displayed in a pop out form in Office.  From what I’ve been reading Documents.Open is not the method I need to open the file as a .docm.   Is there a method which will load .dotm as a .docm and also fit nicely into the below cde?  I see there is a  Template.OpenAsDocument method but that relies on a collection which isn’t configured.

Thanks for your help.

Private Sub cmdOpen_Click()
    Dim i As Variant
        For Each i In Me.lstFiles.List
            If Me.lstFiles.ListIndex <> -1 Then
                Documents.Open FileName:=sPath & Application.PathSeparator & Me.lstFiles.Value, ReadOnly:=True
                Me.Hide
                Unload Me
                Exit Sub
            Else
                MsgBox "Please select a file."
                Exit Sub
            End If
        Next i
    End Sub

Private Sub lstFiles_DblClick(ByVal Cancel As MSForms.ReturnBoolean)
        Documents.Open FileName:=sPath & Application.PathSeparator & Me.lstFiles.Value, ReadOnly:=True
        Me.Hide
        Unload Me
    End Sub

Wednesday, October 23, 2013 6:56 PM

Answers

• Hi,