App containing only iframes. Possible? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everybody, i'm starting trying building some html5 apps with visual studio 2012 express and i quickly realized that i would like to develop a whole website using my rented server (webhosting) and then just putting a gigantic iframe into my windows 8 app which will technically only display my website but with the "app tile" and without needing the browser. Would that pass the approvation? Developers' account costs some money, i'd like to be sure before getting bashed. I am a web developer, i don't know how to build quickly something with C++ or other ways..but without some server scripting my app would be pretty useless. That's why i'd like to build a website and then iframe it into the app. 

Thanks in advance :)

Thursday, November 22, 2012 5:41 PM

Answers

• If you are a web developer you can create the app directly in HTML/CSS/JavaScript, just like you would as a website, so the fact that you don't know C++ or other technologies shouldn't be an issue.  You can also make XHR calls to your server as needed in the app while writing the app details in HTML/JavaScript.

A very good overview/walkthrough of this can be found at http://blogs.msdn.com/b/microsoft_press/archive/2012/10/29/free-ebook-programming-windows-8-apps-with-html-css-and-javascript.aspx.

• Marked as answer by Song Tian Wednesday, November 28, 2012 9:55 AM
    Sunday, November 25, 2012 8:46 AM
  • Hi D3stroyah,

As you've found, a windows store app completely based on a remote website is note recommended by the guidelines. And Microsoft has already provided HTML5 + javascript as first-class programming languages for developing windows store app. I think this is defintely what you need and you will get more advanced programming interfaces (than what you can do in normal web page javascript code) in windows store app code (based on html5 and javascrpit).  The book Gearard suggested is a very good one to get start.