none
Digitally signed macros suddenly no longer running RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on a board like this.  I can usually figure most of my problems out but this one has me completely stumped.

I wrote a macro that takes all attachments (assuming they exist) and saves them to our network.  This macro is triggered by a rule that runs when a certain contact emails the end user.  In order to ensure the macro runs without having to enable all macros, I digitally signed it with a self-signed certificate, and ensured it was trusted.  Then set security settings to automatically run signed macros and notify the user about unsigned macros.

After a bit of testing, I was confident the macro and rule worked as intended.  It has been in use for about 6 months with no issues.  Then suddenly, a couple of weeks ago, it stopped working.  When I attempt to run the project manually (I also included a second subroutine in the project that simply creates a message box when run for testing purposes), I get a message saying that macros in the project are disabled.

The only way to stop this message from occurring is to change security settings to "Notifications for all macros", however, this solution isn't feasible in the long term because I ONLY want trusted, digitally signed macros to be run and this opens the door to unsigned macros.

I still have an exact copy of this code on my own PC from when I initially wrote it, and upon testing, it too had stopped working.  Did Microsoft update something broke signatures or changed how they work recently?

Tuesday, October 25, 2016 6:52 PM

All replies

• Hello,

Looks like you need to purchase a certificate from a trusted vendor. Did you have a chance to try it out? Does it work in Outlook correctly?

[custom.development]

Tuesday, October 25, 2016 6:58 PM