Openning a can of Worms ! RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi All,

I hope I am not going to create a long list of argument here but need a few feedback.

I have been a SQL Server DBA for over 18 years (Besides a Little bit of Oracle and respectable amount of DB2 DBA but always SQL Server as the primary focus) and I have seen many things course of my past years and I am still doing the job as I believe it is right. For short, I do have a problem with something that pushes me from one company to another (Already changed 3 companies) and that is the people who have SysAdmin permissions on the SQL Servers OTHER than the DBAs. This is a concept I have been struggling with and having arguments with the upper management and at the end quitting that place (If I can not change it to the level kicking all the Non-DBAs out of the SysAdmin group).

I have a problem grasping why especially developers need SysAdmin permissions even in development or test servers ?. Are they DBAs ?. It appears that they all either want to be DBAs or they want to put in their resume that they can also do DBA. Is the DBA job that simple ?. I have been in an organization (My Last place. Started a new place and only has been one week but the same problem also exist here) where everyone (Not only developers but from the very upper management down to support people including the Veeam backup guy) seems to know everything about SQL Server (They think they know).