none
Get entity with earliest date RRS feed

• Question

• I'm not very experienced at LINQ, but I think this is probably a simple question.

I have an EntityCollection and I need to get the entity from the collection that has the earliest date.

Dim q = From oBal In Me.Balances Where oBal.dtBalance = Me.Balances.Min(Function(z) z.dtBalance)

Is this correct, and/or the best way to do this?

Thanks,
    Josh

Friday, May 27, 2011 9:11 PM

Answers

• Hi Josh;

This is how I would do it, I order the collection by the date, ascending order, and then return the first in the list.

Dim qResult = (From b In Me.Balances
            Order By b.dtBalance Ascending
            Select b).FirstOrDefault()

Fernando

If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    Saturday, May 28, 2011 2:48 AM

• I think joshSommers is right.
    and the default value for order by is asc
    so I think it is no need to wirte "ascending"

Order By b.dtBalance 

Best Regards,
    If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    Saturday, May 28, 2011 7:46 AM

All replies

• Hi Josh;

This is how I would do it, I order the collection by the date, ascending order, and then return the first in the list.

Order By b.dtBalance Ascending

Fernando

Saturday, May 28, 2011 2:48 AM

• I think joshSommers is right.
    and the default value for order by is asc
    so I think it is no need to wirte "ascending"

Order By b.dtBalance 

Best Regards,
    Saturday, May 28, 2011 7:46 AM
  • @ Tim;

I think joshSommers is right. and the default value for order by is asc so I think it is no need to wirte "ascending"