Linked Sharepoint Task List - Cannot 'See' Parent ID Field RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using access DB + sharepoint links for a couple years now, and it is awesome. Does just what I need with no help or special tools from our IT dept. However now I'm struggling because I'm trying to use a task list with subtasks and automatically add tasks given certain parameters in my macros in access. I linked to the table and that's great, I've gone to the headers and right clicked and clicked 'Unhide columns' to see all the columns I can. Unfortunately, the Parent ID column is still not in there. From sharepoint I see the Parent ID column is listed under indexed columns, but that's it. Am I missing a permission or something to see this field? I would like to copy old tasks and add as new ones, which I have set up already via an append query in access, however I can't do anything with the parent ID field so there are no relationships between the tasks other than predecessor stuff. Trick is I really want to see them grouped on sharepoint the way it does out of the box with the subtasks...
    Tuesday, January 16, 2018 7:42 PM

All replies

• Hi AHoltKCMO,

you had mentioned that," I'm trying to use a task list with subtasks and automatically add tasks given certain parameters in my macros in access"

If you are using code then i suggest you to post your code. It will be helpful for us to understand the issue in better way.

other thing i want to confirm you about your statement,"I've gone to the headers and right clicked and clicked 'Unhide columns' to see all the columns I can. Unfortunately, the Parent ID column is still not in there."

If it is not displaying in the list below.

which means that field is not available in Access Table.

It will be helpful if you post screenshot of Access and SharePoint.

We will try to reproduce the issue and try to provide you further suggestions.

Regards

Deepak

MSDN Community Support