none
Finetuning capitalizations RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there

(I've written a fair amount of code in Access, and a bit in Excel— so I'm not a complete novice. But I have almost no experience using it in Word.)

I kind of like Word's automatic capitalization of new sentences, because I'm not a very good typist. But there are lots of times when I need to force a line break for one reason or another, and don't want it to capitalize the new line. Is there any way to write code that will keep it capitalizing after "period-space" but not after every line break?

And if that is indeed possible, can we make it even dicier: Don't auto-capitalize after a line break unless the preceding line ended with a period?

Thanks!

• Edited by Nick_Vittum Monday, February 1, 2016 2:29 PM
    Monday, February 1, 2016 2:29 PM

Answers

• Have you thought of using Shift-Enter instead of just Enter? Shift-Enter inserts a line-break within a paragraph and the new line won't auto-capitalize the first letter.

Cheers
    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Tuesday, February 2, 2016 1:24 AM
  • Not feasible, at least, and not possible unless you want to get into API-level programming.

Do note that, if you really want the final output to have paragraph breaks instead of line breaks, you could achieve that via a Find/Replace, where:
    Find = ^l
    Replace = ^p

Cheers
    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

• Marked as answer by Nick_Vittum Wednesday, February 3, 2016 2:40 PM
    Wednesday, February 3, 2016 3:16 AM

All replies

• Have you thought of using Shift-Enter instead of just Enter? Shift-Enter inserts a line-break within a paragraph and the new line won't auto-capitalize the first letter.

Cheers
    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Tuesday, February 2, 2016 1:24 AM