none
Difficulty in migrating from MSXML2 to System.xml RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to both MSXML as well as System.xml. The below piece of code needs to be changed to the corresponding code by using System.xml. I went through several articles but was unable to find a solution. I am also not sure what exactly the below code does. Please help. Thank you.

MSXML2.DOMDocument40 xmlDoc;
    bool bXMLString = true;
    string strXMLFile = "<path of xml file>";
    string result = string.Empty;

// Load DOM Document.
    xmlDoc = new MSXML2.DOMDocument40();
    xmlDoc.async = false;
    xmlDoc.load(strXMLFile);
    xmlDoc.validateOnParse = true;
    xmlDoc.resolveExternals = true;

// Parse the XML.
    if (xmlDoc.readyState == 4)
    {
        if (xmlDoc.parseError.errorCode != 0)
        {
             if (xmlDoc.parseError.errorCode == -1072896682)
                 bXMLString = false;

result = xmlDoc.parseError.reason + xmlDoc.parseError.srcText;
         }

else
             result = "";
    }

Wednesday, December 28, 2016 6:48 AM

All replies

• Somthing similar to this:

bool bXMLString = false;	// better set it to true when all completed successfully instead
    string strXMLFile = "<path of xml file>";
    string result = string.Empty;

// Since 4.5.2 or later defaults XmlReaderSettings.XmlResolver to null, it's recommanded to create it yourself if your reader needs it
    // if you already know what external URL your XML document will be referencing, consider using XmlSecureResolver
    XmlUrlResolver resolver = new XmlUrlResolver();
    resolver.Credentials = CredentialCache.DefaultCredentials;

XmlReaderSettings settings = new XmlReaderSettings();
    settings.Async = false;
    settings.XmlResolver = resolver;
    // since XmlReader always vaildate XML content, no need for a corresponding setting here.
    try
    {
    	using (XmlReader reader = XmlReader.Create(strXMLFile))
    	{
    		reader.MoveToContent();
    		while (reader.Read())
    		{