How get the ListView's SelectedIndex?

Question

• Hello,
    sorry but i'm a bit new in programming Windows Store Apps. It's all different from Windows Forms and Visual Basic .Net i knew before years.

I have a ListView and want to get the SelectedItem or SelectedIndex when i click a button outside of the ListView. I searched on MSDN or Google but all the examples i found do not compile. The types are not found or it does nothing.

What should i do here:

<Page
        x:Class="App1.MainPage"
        xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
        xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
        xmlns:local="using:App1"
        xmlns:d="http://schemas.microsoft.com/expression/blend/2008"
        xmlns:mc="http://schemas.openxmlformats.org/markup-compatibility/2006"
        mc:Ignorable="d">
      <Page.DataContext> 
        <local:clsTextVM/>
      </Page.DataContext>

<Grid Background="{ThemeResource ApplicationPageBackgroundThemeBrush}">
        <ListView x:Name="List" HorizontalAlignment="Left" Height="648" Margin="25,40,0,0" VerticalAlignment="Top" Width="1331"
                  ItemsSource="{Binding CustomObj_List, Mode=TwoWay}" ScrollViewer.VerticalScrollBarVisibility="Auto" 
                  SelectionMode="Single">
          <ListView.ItemTemplate>
            <DataTemplate>
              <StackPanel Orientation="Horizontal">
                <TextBox Text="{Binding Name, Mode=TwoWay}" AcceptsReturn="True" TextWrapping="Wrap" MinWidth="120" FontSize="18"/>
                <TextBox Text="{Binding Description, Mode=TwoWay}" AcceptsReturn="True" TextWrapping="Wrap"  MinWidth="180" Margin="10,0,0,0" FontSize="18"/>
                <TextBox Text="{Binding Remarks, Mode=TwoWay}" AcceptsReturn="True" TextWrapping="Wrap" MinWidth="1000" Margin="10,0,0,0" FontSize="18"/>
                </StackPanel>
            </DataTemplate>
          </ListView.ItemTemplate>
        </ListView>