none
Visual Studio Datagridview - Finding all rows based on multiple criteria

Question

• I am working on an application that imports a database of logistics companies from file Blacklist.accdb (I am very new to Visual Studio and am still learning vb.net)

The columns are:
    MCN / DOT || Carrier Name || Primary Contact || Secondary Contact || Primary Phone || Secondary Phone || Fax Number

The goal is for the user to be able to insert strings into the application's TextBoxes 1-7, and click "Find" to see if the carrier they are using is related to any of the carriers in the database in anyway.

EX: Phone numbers from the user's carrier matches two phone numbers in the Datagridview. Now we know that the user's carrier is potentially affiliated with the carriers found.

I am currently using a "Find" button which filters backwards (Last row first) and removes columns in which none of the cells have TextBox1.Text or TextBox2.Text or TextBox3.Text etc. - Which works, just incredibly slowly when dealing with hundreds of rows of data.

Is there a quicker way to do this?

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 7:45 PM

All replies

• Have you heard of SQL?

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 7:53 PM
  • Not outside of Visual Studio, no.
    Wednesday, September 6, 2017 7:57 PM
  • Is there a quicker way to do this?

Depending on the complexity of things, maybe not, but the DGV is (or should be) just a display of the data -- not the data itself.

Go back to the source of the data to run the query.

"A problem well stated is a problem half solved.” - Charles F. Kettering

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 8:19 PM
  • I have never heard of SQL being inside of Visual Studio but I don't know what "inside" and "outside" means in that contest.

Note that this question is in the VB forum so we don't know details of what you are using but I assume Windows Forms. You say "imports a database" but otherwise we don't know how the data is being accessed.