Why is there so much change in the Windows API?

Question

• I've been writing apps based on Windows for a few years now, but of late I'm getting quite frustrated, as trying to find out how to do some quite simple things in Windows has become a very lengthy and laborious process.

For example, I am currently developing a Windows 8.1 Store App and am trying to get a TextBox containing a long text string, to instantiate with the text scrolled to the end.  So I look for TextBox.AppendText method and it's no longer available.  I look for TextBox.ScrollToCaret() and again it's no longer available.

I then look on MSDN and other on-line resources and start to realise that there isn't an answer to this and I'm probably going to have to use another control or write some custom code to do something that should be very easy... namely, display scrollable text in a box!

There has got to be a better way to develop software than endless cycles of trial and error?

I'd like an answer to my TextBox issue, but as this isn't the only example of such changeability in the code base, I'd also like to know if I'm wasting my time in developing for the Windows Store and perhaps should stay with Windows Forms or WPF and wait until the latest code base has matured?

Saturday, December 20, 2014 2:12 AM

Answers

• Please post the TextBox issue that you want help with on its own thread with a clear description of what you are trying to do. It is difficult to separate the technical question from the general comments.