none
counter in small basic RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

i'm new in programing (just taked the challenge of the small basic), and i would like to do a counter that counts from 0 to 100 in 100 seconds but i didnt found anything that could help me to do that.

Can anyone reply with an example or anything that could help me?

i would apreciate.
    greets
    d_ethos
    Friday, March 6, 2009 1:52 PM

Answers

•  I believe that the Program.Delay() function is event driven and not just a counting loop hidden from the user. This means that, within reason, the time should be unaffected by the loading of the PC. The trouble with Program.Delay() is that you can't do anything else while you're waiting.
    In the thread "How would I show the time?" Vijaye raised the question of adding a timer:

"As for the timer, there was some thought about adding a timer to Small Basic - something along the lines of:

Timer.Interval = 1000
     Timer.Tick = OnTimerTick

Sub OnTimerTick
         DrawClockHands()
     EndSub

I'd like to get some feedback about the utitlity vs. complexity of such a feature."

I think this is a good place to raise the subject. What does everyone else think?

Tuesday, March 10, 2009 6:27 PM

All replies

• Here is 1 way to count 100 seconds by using the clock function and only using the second part of the function.  The same thing could be accomplished by using the minute and second calls of the clock function.

'100 Second Counter

startsecond=Clock.second
    TextWindow.WriteLine("Start Second is: "+startsecond)
    While Clock.Second =startsecond
      'Loop past startsecond
    EndWhile
    TextWindow.WriteLine("Past Start")
    TextWindow.WriteLine("Looping for 1 Minute")
    While Clock.Second <>startsecond
      'Loop first minute
    EndWhile
    TextWindow.WriteLine("Past 1 Minute")
    finish=startsecond+40 'add 40 seconds to startsecond
    If finish > 60 Then
      EndingSecond=finish-60  'actual ending second
    endif