Configure Windows Azure Site Settings: Cannot select a region. Unable to get location information. RRS feed

• Question

• First off, forgive me if I have placed this question in the wrong place; this is my first time and I felt this was the closest. If you know of a better place, please point me in the right direction.

So. I am following the guide from Microsoft, Get started with Azure Web Sites for ASP.NET <http://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/web-sites-dotnet-get-started/>. I am in the "Create an ASP.NET web application" section, on step 13. Here, it asks me to select a region which is closest to me. However, when I click the <Select a region> dropdown, nothing is there. On the side, where there should be a green check mark, I instead get a red exclamation point. When I hover over the red, an error appears across the screen that is cut off so that I can not read it all. It reads "Unable to get location information. Cannot find Subscription with name subscription_id_of_the_project. There was no endpoint listening at https://management.core.windows.net/subscriptionID/services/webspaces/?prop" and there it stops.

I have searched for this problem as widely as I can (I googled it a lot, of which I am fairly competent at doing), and cannot find anybody else with this error. To be honest, I'm not really sure what's going on. 

I'm using Visual Studio 2013 Ultimate Update 2 on Windows 8.1. I have two different subscriptions that I have tried, a free trial subscription and a pay-as-you-go subscription. 

Help?

Sunday, May 18, 2014 11:27 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Have you signed in in step 13? I tested it on my local, the dropdown list was not empty. If you have signed in, could you create a new azure website in azure manage portal? Could you see the region option? Please give me further information here.

Best Regards,

Jambor