Roadmap for Developing Metro Style Windows 8 Apps for a Complete Newbie.

General discussion

• Hi,

I am a completely newbie to programming but I do want to learn and start developing Metro Style Apps for Windows 8. I have the Windows 8 Consumer Preview and Visual Studio 11 Express. While going through the guides for it, I came across the fact that it could be done using a variety languages ala Javascript, Visual Basic, C++, etc. So I wanted an expert opinion on which language should I start learning and would be the easiest. And if you could also share some resources or guides that I could learn from. I have the book Visual C++ 2010 by Ivor Horton. I read a few chapters from it. So should I continue reading that or abandon it for some other resource more tailored towards Windows 8 apps.

The Windows 8 Apps are so amazing, I can't wait for Windows 8 to release and start making apps of my own.

Cheers

Anagh Narain

Tuesday, April 17, 2012 1:34 PM

All replies

• Hi,

because your a programming newbie it depends on your interests. I would say that XAML/C# is the best option for learning it (but it doesn't harm to have a look at the other options), because JavaScript and C++ are not the easiest languages to start learning and the concepts of C# could also be used in other programming languages. With XAML/C# you have XAML concepts like data binding which could make your life easy. If you're more interested in web development you can also use HTML5/JS.

Best Regards. When you see answers and helpful posts, please click Vote As Helpful, Propose As Answer, and/or Mark As Answer. This helps us build a healthy and positive community.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012 2:03 PM
  • Are XAML and C# 2 different languages or XAML as some kind of addon/extension. Also so now do I search for C# tutorials or XAML tutorials. It would be really super if you could give me a link to some resource online. 

Cheers Anagh Narain

Tuesday, April 17, 2012 3:53 PM