Developing for standard and professional RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to windows mobile development. Basically I have 2 projects. One for standard and one for professional. What I want to do is probably add a class or something that runs first that determines which platform it is and then execute the correct project. Any help would be appreciated.
    Alan
    Wednesday, September 22, 2010 8:26 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi ,

You need developed a  console application ,  which will be executed  first ,

in this project check the is it pocket pc or smart phone using  api GetVersionEx() ,

according to  result  launch the pocketpc/smartphone .exe(executable )  using

ShellExecute()  method .

Regards,

Ashakant 

• Proposed as answer by matrixlnmi Wednesday, September 22, 2010 5:04 PM
    Wednesday, September 22, 2010 3:06 PM
  • I am using VB and I tried getversionex and can't figure out how to get it to work.
    Alan
    Wednesday, September 22, 2010 3:12 PM
  •  

Hi ,

As per suugestion mention above , given below is yours queries :

How to get the OSversion in VB can  be  found in the below url :

http://www.vb-helper.com/howto_os_version.html

and after that  how  to  launch the application is can be  found in the  url :

http://www.vbaccelerator.com/codelib/shell/shellex.htm

Both  url  provide the sample code also  which can be useful f o r you .

Regards,

Ashakant

• Proposed as answer by matrixlnmi Wednesday, September 22, 2010 5:03 PM
    Wednesday, September 22, 2010 5:03 PM
  • The following FAQ can help you differentiate Pocket PC from Smartphone:

How do I detect the platform and Windows Mobile version?

Please mark the post that helps you, and unmark that does not. This benefits our community.

• Marked as answer by warrentang Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:06 AM
    Friday, September 24, 2010 3:36 AM
  • Hi,