copyright issues? RRS feed

• Question

• hi

I am new to visual c++

I have written a simple windows forms application using some visual c++ code which targets .net framework 4

I wonder perhaps naively whether the application has a commercial potential (I guess you have to fail many times and start somewhere........)

i read in http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/vstudio/ms235299(v=vs.100).aspx :

'When you deploy an application, you must also deploy the files that are required to support it. If any of these files are provided by Microsoft, check whether you are permitted to redistribute them. To view a list of permitted files, see Redist.txt in the ..\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\ folder on the computer where Visual Studio is installed. To review the Microsoft Software License Terms, see Eula.txt on the Visual Studio 2010 installation media.'

i have visual studio express and cannot locate either redist.txt or Eula.txt (not for visual studio anyway).

one version of my application uses AxInterop.WMPLib.1.0.dll and Interop.WMPLib.1.0.dll and requires windows mediaplayer 9

i also have used some Microsoft images (however it now seems impossible to search Microsoft images without the latest version of Office) - although it now seems impossible to obtain Microsoft images without latest Office, are there copyright issues relating to the ones i have downloaded?  i do not want to do anything illegal

also, are there issues relating to visual c++ code?

i apologise if my questions are naïve

Saturday, November 30, 2013 11:20 AM

Answers

• I'd suggest looking for [pretty much] anything under a Creative Commons Licence (not sure if Our Friends in Redmond do anything like that).  

Regards, Phill W.

• Marked as answer by antunny Thursday, December 5, 2013 3:23 PM
    Thursday, December 5, 2013 12:55 PM

All replies

• This forum is for the presentation layer Windows Forms. 

Your question is about licences for whatever program language.